Thanks so much to Lazarus Lake (Gary Cantrell) organiser of the infamous Barkley Marathons for this interview at the National Running Show 2020. It was fantastic to meet Laz in person, he was very warm, fun and happy to answer questions despite such a busy day starring on stage to absolutely packed audiences.

See you at the National Running Show next year 30-31 Jan 2021. Will Laz be back? Maybe! I’ll try to find out and share the info – you’ll know as soon as I do. 

So many people are interested in the Barkley Marathons and there is a lot of info about that now with so many films out, so I for this interview I wanted to focus on Laz himself as I’m intrigued about his own running history and whether he thinks he could have completed Barkley Marathons himself back in the day. Thank you very much to Laz for the great chat and permission to use these old running photos in this film.

I didn’t get long to chat to Laz personally, so I’ve added a few highlights from his awesome hour long fireside chat with Bad Boy Running in case you couldn’t fight through the crowds to hear it. He was definitely egging the women on as only men have managed to complete it so far, the latest being John Kelly who I’ve interviewed about his Grand Round and Spine Race win (scroll down for links).

Screenshot 2020-02-13 at 12.54.00.png

Laz thought Nicky Spinks made a great start on the Barkley Marathons in her 2019 attempt and told us she is back for 2020 (cool! Go Nicky! Scroll down for her interview about her 1.5 laps of Frozen Head State Park). Laz said he would also like to hear from Jasmin Paris, overall Spine Race record holder and multiple British Round women’s record holder. He thinks she could have what it takes, but does she want to have a crack? Find out in my full length interview with her below.

See you at the National Running Show next year 30-31 Jan 2021. Will Laz be back? Maybe! I’ll try to find out and share the info – you’ll know as soon as I do. 

More Barkley-related interviews

How does the Spine compare to Barkley Marathons? (PLUS John’s thoughts on Jasmin’s record & top tips)

The Grand Round & Barkley Marathons chat with John Kelly (the only winner at 2017 Barkley!)

Barkley Marathons vs Double Bob Graham – which is tougher? (DBG record-holder Nicky Spinks reveals)

Nicky Spinks – beat breast cancer & Double Bob Graham record holder (132 miles over 84 summits)

“My Montane Spine Race record?” What does record-holder Jasmin Paris really think? (best answer ever)

FULL INTERVIEW
How Jasmin Paris set the Montane Spine Race outright record (while still breastfeeding)

Top 10 endurance running tips – from Montane Spine Race record-breaker Jasmin Paris

Jasmin Paris – Bob Graham record holder (ladies) reveals secret to endurance success


Follow me on Instagram @WildGingerRunning

Support me on Patreon for perks and prizes!

Patreon pic.jpeg

Get a Wild Ginger Running t-shirt or buff here

IMG_3461

Book a place on my 24-26 April beginner – intermediate trail running training camp here

WGR training camp 2020

Run the 100-mile UTMB course over 6-days from Chamonix with me here!

1 Lac du Brevent Chamonix thumbnail